A good game

September 6, 2008 at 7:34 pm 5 comments

What was supposed to be a friendly game of DotA turned out to be one of my most annoying experiences.

I still don’t get why some people had to brag, mouth off, or trash talk other players for spite. Maybe it makes them feel good. Yea it feels totally awzum and cool to pawn others but to yap about how good you are and calling others noobs (or ‘bobo’ read: unintelligent, stupid) is just plain annoying.

So a couple hours ago I went to the nearby computer shop to enjoy a DotA game with some of my younger brother’s barkada. I’ve always thought I had some sort of authority over these “little kids” cos well, to put it blatantly, I’M OLD (older than them, I mean hehe). It was just a LAN game and our team was 1 player short. Was playing with another guy my age so I guess it was kinda fair. But yeah the little rambos were good and pwnd our sorry asses a hell lotta times. But one thing totally ticked me off and sent me over the edge. This @$%# %$#%$ named JC was loudmouthing about how good he owned us and that he’s using what he thinks is an ‘underdog’ hero – Goblin Techies. Sure. Every friggin time he does his “Suicide” and pwns, he’s gonna jump from his seat and bellow,

“Techies na nga lang yan ah!”

So bad enough getting beat by a scrawny a-hole and still he does that act a couple more times – it certainly ticked me. So I sent a message to all the players:

“Angas ng techies ah. Kala mo kung sino. 4v3 naman.”

I appealled to the fact that we were disadvantaged and true enough, he’s not really the playmaker because the other players from his team were pretty damn good too. Then he replied with:

“1 on 1 na lang pustahan”

And almost all of my bro’s friends started to get giddy because, as I found out later, they were aching for some action out of the game. I’m not really a fighter and I rarely get myself into conflicts (I’m a peaceful dude, a gentleman, a well-bred guy). So I replied with the first thing that came into my mind:

“Sorry dude I’ve no more money to spare. I’m jobless. I’m a bum. Forgive me.”

TWO IMPORTANT LESSONS:

1) It’s not cool to lose your cool. At any instance. At any given place or time. You’re just aching for a fat lip and you’ll just feel awfully bad if you let your burning anger consume you.

2) Be a sport. Play nice. You can be the best damn player in your sport/game but believe me, people are gonna HATE you if you can’t show any sign of humility and badmouth others if they’re not as good as you.

As for that little runt, he’s gonna get his share one day and I believe the sorry dude is gonna cry for being a total loser.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

On giving 2.5 years

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. yoshke  |  September 6, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    “I’m a peaceful dude, a gentleman, a well-bred guy.”

    Hahaha. Cultured, huh?

    I co-own an Internet shop, I know what you’re talking about. These guys. tsk tsk.

    Reply
  • 2. Karla  |  September 8, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    I don’t know much about Dota, but I know what you mean when it comes to those annoying arrogant pesky people you are talking about. Sometimes I can’t help badmouthing them, and it takes a lot of lip-biting to resist the urge to fight back. Bute ka pa.. you’re a “peaceful dude” at parang madali lang sayo! Haha πŸ™‚ Good for you!

    Parang sa YouTube din.. I watched the UAAP competition again on youtube this morning because hindi pa ko maka-recover sa kahapon, and it’s funny how all the people get carried away and they keep bashing other schools just because of one routine :)) My God, it’s a cheerdance competition. It’s supposed to be fun! They’re sucking the fun out of it :))

    Oh well πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. tina  |  September 9, 2008 at 8:57 am

    what you did was good. di mo na pinatulan. and you were cool. =)

    usually those who brag a lot just needs attention.. they don’t get much attention at home that’s why.. so we should just understand where they are coming from. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. Skron  |  December 22, 2008 at 10:42 am

    I’m a gamer. But I avoid multiplayer games because of these people.

    Reply
  • 5. FM Morgan  |  February 24, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Protip: Reply with something witty that he can’t understand. Then smile at everything else he says.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Knight

I'm a sizzling knight in shining armor! I'm Sir Lancelot and I'm ready to take your breath away. Haha. No, seriously, I'm just a boy trying to grow up; a guy trying to look for his place in this f*cked-up world. Amen? Amen.

Categories

Recent Posts

Pages


