On giving

August 27, 2008 at 10:57 pm 2 comments

I’m not exactly a good guy, but I think I have a strong sense of justice.

Anyway, this happened on my way to Manila some couple of days ago. It was morning and as usual traffic was heavy. I was looking around out of boredom when I noticed these three little kids on the jeep in front of us. They were about 4-6 years old, dressed in rags and they were sort of singing/playing – one was beating a drumlike instrument while the two sang and begged for money from the passengers. They left when they were through and I knew that ours was next. So they started playing on our jeep. One was seated at the step of the jeepney while the other two handed us envelopes. (I thought it was really rough, and I never really give money to beggars but these are just kids, and I also thought they were nice enough to use envelopes hehe). But a really grouchy woman at the end of the jeep seems to be miffed at the trio’s act. So before they could even finish asking us for spare coins she started jabbering and shouting to the kids, telling them how dirty they are and that they should stop that practice for all she cares.

“Bumaba na kayo dito! Baba! Baba!”

It was a really unpleasant sight – seeing someone lose her cool over that, and to kids. I find it quite harsh. Those were kids and they didn’t seem to have anything to eat. If she couldn’t spare them something then maybe it would’ve been best for her to quit being mean and just keep her yap shut. It didn’t end there though. That tub of lard continued to talk about the poor, the “unclean” beggars and theΒ  downfall of our society because of these people. Man! Talk about stigmatization! Talk about insensitivity! If I’d just been a little less nicer I would’ve given her a dose of her own unkindness. Physically. Heh.

But I don’t think I’m made for that – hitting women LOL. So to divert my rage – here, I just wrote about it. We all know that the world is not fair. Life is not fair. It’s an old cliche. Some people do have plenty for themselves and some don’t have anything at all. So I guess if you’ve got that ‘something’, it’s only proper to share, right? But if you can’t share to the less fortunate, you can always give them something they would also want – kindness.

Peace!

Spence

PS Forgive the cheesiness, especially at the end. I guess there’s still a little bit of goodness left in me heheh. Amen? Amen.

PPS I guess there’s also a need to make an exception to what I just wrote, and it applies to those “inconsiderate” beggars. Hmm, I might write something about them next time. πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Life in general.

What’s Up Today 1 A good game

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karla  |  September 1, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Spence! You’re back πŸ™‚

    I know how that feels. I’m not exactly Little Miss Good Girl either, and admittedly, I’m not always able to give loose change to street kids. I understand why most people don’t kasi nga, sometimes the children are just being used by syndicates or druglords or whoever.. but I agree with you that it’s unfair when other people belittle them and treat them badly when in fact they’re nothing but innocent.

    I wish the world was a better place.
    Will Spence the Knight save the day? πŸ˜›

    Reply
  • 2. Spence  |  September 3, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Karla, I can’t because I’m no hero. I’m just a bum killing my time writing posts such as this hehe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Knight

I'm a sizzling knight in shining armor! I'm Sir Lancelot and I'm ready to take your breath away. Haha. No, seriously, I'm just a boy trying to grow up; a guy trying to look for his place in this f*cked-up world. Amen? Amen.

Categories

Recent Posts

Pages


