The Kite Runner

January 25, 2008 at 5:10 pm 9 comments

For you, a thousand times over.

I guess this line will stay in my head for a long time, I hope forever.

Anyway, I just wrote this because I needed a fix. You know those times when you feel like you just had to do something, no thinking, no questions asked? This is one of those times for me. And that’s because I just finished Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner. I don’t have anything else to say.

Hmm, maybe except for this. You’re missing something big if you don’t get to read this creation.

The Kite Runner

This is a story about war, violence, discrimination – the most cruel things you can imagine in this world. But most importantly, this is a story of friendship, trust, and redemption from the past. There is a way to be good again.

Peace.
– Spence

PS I will do my best to make a review of The Kite Runner. Or just write a lengthier post about it. It’s not your ordinary Gen-fiction. It’s something else. I’m actually off to buy my next book but I think no book could compare to the one I just read. 😦

PPS Shout-out to Christian of asteeg.net. He’s the guy who recommended this to me. Thanks, man! By the way, there’s already a motion picture for this book and it’s already on my download queue in torrent. Heh heh.

Entry filed under: Books, Life in general. Tags: , , , , .

Big Time!! The Kite Runner Movie

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrew Clarke  |  January 25, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Hi Spence,
    I would love to hear your opinion on another book. The title is “Outcasts of Skagaray”. I wrote it, and hoped people who are not afraid of their own feelings would read it. It would be great to hear what you have to say.

    SPENCE says: Wow. Thank you. I’ll look for it in the bookstores since I don’t own any credit cards online. Heheh. Thank you, mister.

    Reply
  • 2. Christian  |  January 25, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Hmmm. So you’ve read it. It’s really a good book. Actually, it’s the best book I have read in my entire life. I am looking forward for the film, according to my cousin, it’s going to be released here in the Philippines. She has seen a poster of the movie somewhere in Manila.

    As for my review of the book, I still haven’t finished writing it. I’m still in the process of writing it. Urgh. It’s been months since I read the book and I still haven’t published a review of it.

    As what I have told you in my blog, you may also want to read Hosseini’s second novel, A Thousand Splendid Suns.

    SPENCE says: I thank you again. This is also the best book I’ve read in my whole life. No other book has moved me this much, haha. This is a totally effective start for me to go back into reading books. And yeah, i was hoping they’d show the film here. Good luck with your review. I’ll check his other book some time. Enough war and violence for the mean time. Heh.

    Reply
  • 3. fye  |  January 25, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    i got wind of this book from a fellow blog friend, too. it’s in my up-next book basket. hehe. golly. you were moved by this book, that means this must really be something effectual. you better write the review. i’ll be looking forward to that. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. bleue  |  January 25, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    whoa! spence, thanks for droppin’ by my site. I really like to have a copy of that book… I’ll go get one this pay day, hehehe! And yes, boys Do cry! I do cry… 😛

    Reply
  • 5. cars  |  January 26, 2008 at 5:00 am

    Wow! That book seems to have really struck you — and now it’s intriguing me. It’s been awhile since I’ve last held a great book in my hands. I’ve never really had the luxury of time nowadays. Hayy. But, I shall be hunting for this book! If ever I have time (summer is near, anyway) I’ll read that.

    Of course, boys cry too! It’s surreal if anyone thinks otherwise. 😛 Hahaha.

    Thanks for leaving your oh-so-enlightening comment! 🙂 I really really appreciate it. 😛

    SPENCE says: No problemo!

    Reply
  • 6. gyk  |  January 26, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    i hope i’ll get the chance to read that book. i’m currently on kafka on the shore. i find it boring.. is it really that good

    Reply
  • 7. Exene  |  January 28, 2008 at 4:05 am

    Yes boys do cry. It pisses me off when they say they don’t.
    I heard a lot of good things about those books. Been wanting to pick them up. Maybe I will when I have time to read.

    Reply
  • 8. karla  |  January 28, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    cool. I knew there was something with that book, i better get a copy this weekkkkk!

    Don’t worry, everyone cries. Just, don’t cry over spilled milk. 😛 Unless, that milk cost so much and you really wanted it. Am i making sense here? 😛

    btw, 1408 is this thriller/horror movie. The hotel room is haunted, and an author wanted to write a book something about it. But then its too much for him to handle.

    toodles!

    Reply
  • 9. tina  |  February 12, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    i bought the book but haven’t got the chance to read it yet….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Knight

I'm a sizzling knight in shining armor! I'm Sir Lancelot and I'm ready to take your breath away. Haha. No, seriously, I'm just a boy trying to grow up; a guy trying to look for his place in this f*cked-up world. Amen? Amen.

Categories

Recent Posts

Pages


