Lesson Learned

January 16, 2008 at 5:18 am 2 comments

Hmm.. So yeah, I’m still up at this late hour and I have a smashing exam later. Cooooool. It’s deja vu all over again!

Now let me tell you what happened to my class earlier today. I am not a fan of long equationz, derivationz an’ the like so it was really boring – but I say it still depends on the teacher. And since my teacher is pretty hawt, I kept on listenin. Then suddenly she asked a question. Now here’s the thing. I’m not really a smartass but I can pretty much work out the solutions given enough time. And by golly, it was indeed given to me. NO ONE was raising his/her hand to answer the simple question! Total silence. 3..2..1.. still nothing. I wanted to raise my hand but I just gulped because damn I thought, this must be a pretty tough question and I’m just being cool with it. I never ever wanted to be mortified in front of a huge class! So my confidence turned to doubt, then to fear. The dead air was unbearable it almost felt like I was in a suspense thriller movie. Seriously!

Then miss R broke the silence with a lecture. She said it was always like that with us students. We know the answers but we don’t wanna raise our hands and speak up. And I can attest to that. Damn we guys always play dumb when it comes to recitation – always hesitating to answer because we’re all afraid to make a mistake. Always afraid to be laughed at. Then when the answer’s already given, we just say to ourselves, “Oh sh*t, I knew that all along!!” and regret the fact that we didn’t speak up and get credit for it.

I know, I know. This issue’s not really big but it just made me think. Why am I too afraid to make a mistake? Why am I too concerned about my silly reputation? It’s not like I’m gonna die if a few classmates laugh at my dumb answer. And where will I end up in the future if I continue to hide in my shell? Locked up in a tight steel room/lab solving deadly equations and figuring out the crazy solutions? Definitely not.

So I learned the important lesson at school today. Knock everyone off with the killer confidence! Bam!

Haha. I’m out. Need to do some major crammin. Wish me luck!

Peace out!

Spence

Entry filed under: Life in general, School. Tags: , .

Welcome to the Future Chillin’

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tina  |  January 17, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    like you.. i have trouble reciting. answering questions in front of a class.. and if ever i answer (and that’s lately) i crack a korny joke. but you see i guess we learned it when we are young… we are usually punished during our elementary days when we make wrong answers or so we think… and we bring that till we are in college.

    Reply
  • 2. dxter  |  January 18, 2008 at 2:36 am

    at least learned a lesson (and i did too!)
    gudluck with the cramming stuff. hehe. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Knight

I'm a sizzling knight in shining armor! I'm Sir Lancelot and I'm ready to take your breath away. Haha. No, seriously, I'm just a boy trying to grow up; a guy trying to look for his place in this f*cked-up world. Amen? Amen.

Categories

Recent Posts

Pages


